James Iha Solo Album, Look to the Sky, Detailed

It’s hard not to feel a bit of nostalgia when it comes to James Iha’s solo debut, Let It Come Down. Put to tape toward the end of the Smashing Pumpkins’ 1990s heyday, the decidedly un-SP set and intimate change of pace on Adore five months later seemed to foreshadow Iha’s imminent departure. So, for those of us raised on grunge and steeped in an angsty high school rock obsession, the end of an era felt nigh. Given that I’ll always have a soft spot for this unflinchingly saccharine collection of folk-pop, it comes as a welcome surprise to hear that Iha will return with a sophomore effort, his first solo outing in 14 years, this spring.

Our friends at Hipsters United report that an online listing and official Facebook page have gone live for Look to the Sky, the 12-track LP due out in March via EMI Japan. The label have also shared the album cover, tracklist, and a new promo photo (above), in which — perhaps purposefully — Iha seems to be channeling the cover shot on Let It Come Down. Looking forward to finally hearing what he has in store after all these years, but for now, here’s a look at the song titles:

Look to the Sky

01. “Make Believe”
02. “Summer Days”
03. “To Who Knows Where”
04. “Till Next Tuesday”
05. “Dream Tonight”
06. “Dark Star”
07. “Appetite”
08. “Gemini”
09. “Waves”
10. “Speed Of Love”
11. “4th Of July”
12. “A String Of Words”
13. “Diamond Eyes” (Bonus Track)
14. “Stay Lost” (Bonus Track)