Wilco iTunes Session Announced

Given that Wilco have recorded most of their albums in their Chicago loft /studio, Jeff Tweedy and Co.’s new 8-track release — which was also put to tape in that space — should offer more than a simple stop-gap before their next full-length effort. On January 24, Wilco will release a session exclusively with iTunes — complete with top-notch mastering (said to be tailored specifically for Apple’s downloadable formats) by The Whole Love mastering engineer Bob Ludwig.

While the set will include new renditions of 5 cuts from their latest record, the most notable tracks for us include reworked takes on Yankee Hotel Foxtrot‘s “War On War” and longtime fan favorite “Passenger Side,” originally released on Wilco’s debut LP, A.M. What’s more, the band’s recent tourmate and collaborative partner, Nick Lowe, joins in for a new version of his own “Cruel to Be Kind.”

Check out the tracklist below:

Wilco iTunes Session

01 Dawned on Me
02 Born Alone
03 I Might
04 Black Moon
05 Whole Love
06 War on War
07 Passenger Side
08 Cruel to Be Kind [ft. Nick Lowe]