Radiohead Approve 14 Songs for ‘The Island President’

When it comes to the issue of climate change, Radiohead are putting their money music where their mouths are: 14 previously released songs from Thom Yorke and Co., as well as contributions from Stars of the Lid, are among the authorized soundtrack to a new documentary on the plight of the Republic of Maldives, an island nation surrounded by the Indian Ocean. The film, The Island President, focuses on the country’s President Mohamed Nasheed as he fights for global legislation to fight the effects of climate change threatening the survival of the Maldives.

Yorke himself spoke out today in an announcement of the band’s support for the documentary: “Unless something is done to stop rising sea levels they will lose everything,” he said. “The country will be underwater.”

As for the music, Radiohead tracks included in the film, which won Best Documentary at the Toronto International Film Festival and makes its Stateside premiere at the Sundance Film Festival in Park City, Utah this week, consist entirely of cuts from their post-OK Computer output, such as Kid A‘s “Idioteque,” In Rainbows‘ “House of Cards,” “Reckoner,” and, most appropriately, “How To Disappear Completely.” Check out the trailer below: